World Shoot Greece 2011

Day 21 – WS Competition – Rest day

Rhodes

Monday, 3 October 2011

Today was our scheduled free day – which means we have to shoot for the next 5 days without a break. So, how did we spend our free day … We went to the range to study tomorrow’s stages, of course!!

After having lunch at a local restaurant we then spent the afternoon catching up on some desperately needed sleep! Woke up to eat dinner, then back to bed again.

WS Rest Day
[Map]

WS Rest Day
[Map]

WS Rest Day
[Map]

Day 22 – WS Competition Day 1

Rhodes

Tuesday, 4 October 2011

First day of the competition was a minor disaster for me … Had 1 miss, 2 no-shoots (weak handed), and 1 procedural (coopers tunnel). I was wondering if I’d made the right decision to compete at all!

Dave did ok, a little on the slow and steady side, but nothing silly.

Day 23 – WS Competition Day 2

Rhodes

Wednesday, 5 October 2011

Day 2 was better for both of us, we each had 1 miss, but were getting into the swing of things!

Day 24 – WS Competition Day 3

Rhodes

Thursday, 6 October 2011

Day 3 was good to us both, no penalties, good scores and good times … Things are looking up!

Day 25 – WS Competition Day 4

Rhodes

Friday, 7 October 2011

Day 4 is a day I’d like to forget but I’m afraid will haunt me for many years to come … I got DQ’d.

The day started out ok, first stage was reasonable, second stage was fabulous – until we went to score the targets … I had reengaged 2 targets instead of shooting 2 others … 4 miss and 2 procedurals, thanks for coming! I put it behind me and blitzed the third stage. Good, back on track, then during my walk-thru for the fourth stage, I got bitten on the hand by a wasp – ouch!! My hand started to swell, but the girls supported me with ice and some wasp-sting pain reducing gel stuff, and I hammered through the stage. Fifth stage was also good, but then everything fell apart on the sixth and final stage of the day (stage 23) … I got DQ’d for breaking 180 degrees. At first I thought it was during my reload, but later learned that it was after the reload as I was moving into the second shooting position. My footwork got a bit tangled and I stepped over the fault line, and from what I can gather it happened while getting myself back into position.

I’m pretty sad about it, but am trying not to beat myself up too much. Especially given the number of times I’d convinced myself I wasn’t even going to shoot the match!

Dave’s day was without incident … Slow and steady … But he is fighting a dreadful head cold now which is making things rather difficult for him. At least he only has one more day to go.


Sent from my iPad by My Vacation HD app (www.myvacationapp.com)

2 thoughts on “World Shoot Greece 2011

  1. Dear Susan,

    I can empathize to some extent because I have been DQd at a major match (Florida Open 2011 in the 8th of my 10 stages) and I know how it feels. The fact that you shared it with the world shows what an incredible spirit you have. The following words consoled me greatly and I share them with the hope that they will do the same for you.

    “It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; because there is not effort without error and shortcomings; but who does actually strive to do the deed; who knows the great enthusiasm, the great devotion, who spends himself in a worthy cause, who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement and who at the worst, if he fails, at least he fails while daring greatly. So that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.” (Theodore Roosevelt)

    Try to enjoy the rest of your trip – you are a champ in my book!

    Chris Walker
    Barbados

Leave a Reply

